Cleaning House

5 11 2009

It isn’t Thanksgiving yet, but I still have things to be thankful for and I would like to share some of those things, along with a rant, today.  With no more appropriate place to start than at the beginning of the year, let me go back to January 2009.  In January, I decided it was best to sever ties with some old friends whom I didn’t actually consider friends anymore.  My reasoning is irrelevant in that it is due to events that took place in 2008 and I am not going that far back.  To be short and sweet, we grew apart in maturity, taste, behavior, and values.  We no longer saw eye to eye and in all brutal honesty, I didn’t really have much respect for them anymore.

Between January and March, I was a bit lonely because I had just moved 200 miles from my hometown and old friends a mere 6 months prior.  This being a vacation/camping/military place to live, I had only made a couple friends here thus far.  To add to the chain of events, one of the best friends I have moved 6 hours from our hometown, making it an 8 hour drive from my new home to her new home.  I have still never visited her, as much as I want to, it’s costly and time-consuming to spend 16 hours driving in order to spend about 1 day with her.  I wish things weren’t that way, but for now, we talk every day online to maintain our friendship and I’m certainly thankful for that.

In March, I met my current boyfriend, Joe.  He is by far the best person to come into my life since Maya was born.  Don’t get me wrong, I have had a couple really awesome boyfriends in the past but none even remotely compare.  He is everything the others were not, and everything I needed and wanted for years and years.  Joe is considerate, honest, chivalrous, attentive, even-tempered, giving, funny, he likes kids, likes going to the park w/ Maya and I, he is a good sport, he has interesting things to say, he doesn’t spend all his time on the computer, he appreciates me, he appreciates things I do (like when I make him dinner, buy him new sheets, etc), he is reciprocative, and seriously I could just sit here and fill an entire paragraph but I don’t want to bore you with how awesome my boyfriend is.

In April I got my car.  While it’s proven to be a bit of a pain in my neck because it’s only a two-seater and I normally do things with two other people, I am truly thankful for it, too.  It gets me where I need to be in a safe, timely, and inexpensive manner.  36 miles per gallon in more than any girl could ever ask for, right?  I am thankful for Maya.  She is an extremely intelligent, sincere, affectionate, loving 9 year old girl whom I love.

I had an amazing year, an eventful Summer, and so far, an exciting Fall.  I am planning my Thanksgiving menu, and Christmas will be here sooner than I would like.  I’m not a scrooge or a Grinch but seriously, Christmas is a lot of work for not that much fun.  That is how I gauge holidays, I guess.  Halloween, for example, I spend hours on my costume, but I get candy and have an awesome time that night.  Worth it.

On the bright side, the decision to rid my life of people I don’t identify with, have nothing in common with, don’t see eye-to-eye with, and in some cases, just don’t like anymore (or maybe never really DID like), really was the best thing I did all year.  I don’t think of friends as disposable, however, I don’t think of friends as NOT friends, either.  There is really no reason to keep people in your life and have to pretend you like them, pretend you have something in common, or basically never talk to them at all unless you see them at parties and such.  I am just not into that.  I consider myself more genuine than that.  I treasure the people I keep in my life and the rest of them I offer common courtesy IF they deserve it.  In the end, having a smaller circle of friends, new and old has been a success.  My life feels cleaner, new and improved, if you will, and I have yet to feel any sense of loss in doing this.  I wish them all the best!

So this post was partly about how I’m thankful, thankful for this, thankful for that, thankful for the lack of this or that, but what actually drove me to post a blog tonight was how irritated I was about this house.  I cleaned the bathroom from top to bottom on Monday.  I swept, I put out clean towels, I washed the shower curtain liner, the shower, the counter and sink…EVERYTHING!  Today I walked into the bathroom and everything was in disarray.  Maybe I have a slight case of OCD because I like my house to always look like I’m walking into a freshly-cleaned hotel room, but I can’t help it that I’m visual.  I like things to be clean and be in order.  Walking into a room that is clean and orderly is one of my favorite feelings.  If it smells nice, too… that’s a HUGE plus.  Maybe it’s just me.  Maybe it’s not that easy to put things where they belong, wipe the foam soap from the counter, cup your two hands to rinse your toothpaste out of the sink when you’re done brushing your teeth, pick up and re-fold the washcloth you knocked down when you set a magazine on the towel rack, or put the magazine back where it belongs?  In addition to all of that, the shower curtain rod was moved UP on the wall about three inches.  WHY?  I don’t know.  When the rod rests three inches lower, the curtain falls at the exactly perfect spot from the floor and the curtain rod rests perfectly at the top of the shower wall, so what is the problem with that?  Sometimes I think these things are done just to annoy the crap out of me, because everyone here knows how I like things just so, BUT I know better… it is really that I just live with SLOBS!  Yep.  It’s true, I do.  You should see the living room.  My bedroom is almost as clean as it can be.  Neat, organized, clean, dusted, things are in order, the bed is always made unless I’m sleeping in it, things like that.  I won’t ask you to take your shoes off, or not eat or drink in here or anything and I think my level of clean is pretty normal, I just like things to stay clean.

How do you keep your house in check?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

