November

10 11 2009

November.  Already.  I am not excited about this month at all.  First, I feel like it’s just a month someone invented to fill a space between Halloween and Christmas.  I know there is Thanksgiving, but really, people generally skip the decor and hurry the celebration along to get to Christmas and then to New Year’s Eve.  There is no chance for me to shop for Thanksgiving decor and things other than when I’m already at the store to pick up Halloween decor or Christmas decor.  Another thing that boggles my mind is why people get so upset about how quickly Christmas creeps up on us.  The only explanation for that is that we basically skip over November so as to quickly move on to the presents.  Personally, I could have Halloween and my birthday (December 30th) every year and not give a damn about anything else.  That’s just me.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to decorate for almost every holiday, but when I weight how much work it is vs. the actual appreciation for the work people do to make it a special, memorable day, it’s just not really worth it to me.  I don’t expect someone to bring me a gift because I made them an awesome Thanksgiving dinner, but I DO expect them to say thank you and let me know what they liked…and by all means, act respectfully toward one another, right?

 

With all of that said, how do you like the time change?  Personally, at the risk of sounding like a total pessimist today, I don’t like it at all.  I think it messed up mine and Maya’s sleep schedules completely and while I don’t completely mind it being dark at 5:30pm, it would be nice if I had until 8pm like I did in the summer.  In an effort to look on the bright side, I recently found out that the park I frequent is lit-up at night.  That means that I will be able to take a run or play some basketball at night if I want to.  I am also in the process of finding out if the same is true for another park slightly further from home but equally as nice (and grassy).  Hey, I live in the desert, so a nice and grassy park is harder to come by than you’d think.  They are both really nice parks, when I’m there it makes me feel like I’m in Orange County again… where things are green and the air smells like plants, not allergies.

 

In other news, I searched and searched for a running shoe to accommodate my unusually high arch.  I tried on EVERY women’s running shoe in Big 5 and ONE pair was decent.  Not PERFECT, but good enough.  If for any reason it becomes painful to run in them, the arch is high enough that if I add an arch support insert it will sit high enough to help.  I used to just run using any cheap runner from Target and I’d suffer arch pain but kept on going.  I figure if I did THAT for years, I can certainly find ways to run on a near-perfect shoe.  I am completely motivated by these shoes.  I get that way.  When I have proper gear, I love to run.  Hopefully this week I’ll be able to pick up a new knee brace, running tights, and shorts to go over said tights so I won’t hurt my knee even more by being cold AND running up and down hills on it.  I can’t believe it took me a year to get up the nerve to run these hills.  I’m starting slow but at least I’m making the effort.  OH!  And I found out that shooting hoops burns 573 calories an hour! I couldn’t contain my excitement.  I know, dumb, right? But honestly, name something you love to do, then imagine if it burned 573 calories an hour.  How excited would YOU be!?

 

Well on that note, I’m going to search the web for reviews on running gear.  Have a great day! 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

