Hey Internet, Be Exciting!

24 11 2009

After having stressed over planning my Thanksgiving menu, what to cook, when to prep the veggies and fruits, what to make when and in which order, what does everyone drink, is there anything I’m serving that someone won’t eat that I need to have an alternate for, I am done! DONE!

I have come up with a pretty traditional menu with a slight Southern flair. We will have herb-roasted, buttered turkey. I made my turkey this way last year and it was a HUGE hit! It was the juiciest turkey I’d ever eaten (and I’ve had some pretty juicy turkeys in the past). As far as sides go, we are having garlic/onion/bacon green beans, cornbread stuffin’, candied yams, white corn, baked mac & cheese, salad, cranberry-orange relish, garlic mashed potatoes, and crescent rolls. Pre-dinner, we will have carrots, celery, ranch dip, and a fruit mix of red globe grapes, kiwi, and pineapple. For drinks, we will have sun tea, gatorade, coffee (gotta have coffee, ok? Forgive me for being Dutch. jk), and juices to mix with 7-up (7-up and cranberry is VERY good!). The only thing I’m not 100% on yet is the pie. I like pumpkin pie so I might make that, I’m the cook, so whatever… or maybe apple pie which I hate. Probably both. Pie a la mode!

I have decided to prep everything I can on Wednesday. Tomorrow, the turkey is moving into the fridge to start the defrost process. Wednesday I will cut up ALL the onions, celery, and carrots different ways for the veggie tray, the stuffin’, the turkey bed (veggies layered under your turkey in the pan both infuses flavor AND keeps it moist…that’s a trick to try. I use onions, carrots, and celery… then you can EAT them, and they are SO delish!), and I will cook the bacon for the green beans, prepare and make the cranberry-orange relish which will be served in cups made from gutted oranges and cut in zig-zag and scalloped edges. I will use a cheese grater to grate just a tad off the bottom of each orange cup to flatten it so it will sit flat on the table, and I will use that rind to garnish the relish. These will be the most work other than the turkey itself, and I’m sure they will be gorgeous and tasty! I am making one stuffin’ IN the bird, and one out of the bird, so I will have to do that on Thursday morning. I want to spatchcock the turkey but I’m still not sure if I will be able to breast the bones with my kitchen scissors so I have allowed enough time to prepare on Thursday should I decide to cook it the “normal” way. Also, I fear that I MIGHT lose flavor by spatchcocking, although I read that that won’t happen.

So, it shouldn’t be TOO much work for one person, and my one and only hope is that everyone stays out of the kitchen while I’m busy cooking so I can get it done as planned. I don’t need anyone eating my stuffin’ veggies or anything. My family are hungry people, too… it’s like they start a fast on Monday and by the time it’s Thanksgiving they are half-dead and ready to stuff face like no other.

Alright, well I hope everyone has as great of a Thanksgiving as I plan to!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

