I Never Want to Lost This Determination!

13 02 2010

This morning I slept in, woke up fully energized and pumped to workout.  I stood up and realized I was a little sore in places I am not usually sore after working out.  From head to toe, the sides of my neck and top of my shoulders near the base of my neck, the outsides and under sides of my upper arms, the entire back side of the rest of my body from my shoulders to my calves, the “V” area of my abs, and more!  I took some Advil and started to hydrate, drinking about 40-50 ounces of water before 3pm.  I at breakfast, then lunch, then at 3pm I started the Insanity Fit Test.  I wanted to get my scores.  I did 5 of the 8 tests before I decided to stop.  That test is hardcore!  I will do the rest of the test either tonight or tomorrow morning before my next workout.  It’s really important for me to have those starting numbers to track my progress.  Also, I took pics in things that don’t fit right that I’d like to wear again in the near future, and took the measurements of my neck, upper arms, chest, natural waist, hips, butt, and thighs.  These are for personal reference for now, however, I might post them at the end of 30 or 60 days with my total progress.  

I found this interesting little bit of information within a board post, it really helps give an idea of just how intense the Insanity Workout is.  I would share this advice with anyone daring to try Insanity, and I’m only two days in… hehe 
Here is some unsolicited advice:
(0) make sure you read the warning disclaimer and understand that this is not for folks who may have pre-existing medical issues. This is not light plyo. This is a cardio assault with huge torque forces on your joints. Take it seriosly so you don’t hurt yourself. Nobody wants to find you on the floor with a blue face because you are trying to be superman. Be smart.
(1) hydrate well the day before,
(2) find a room with excellent ventilation and fans – the cooler the ambient air the better
(3) take FULL advantage of the warmup period to get your muscles ready for the abuse,
(4) don’t eat anything or drink anything 60 to 90 minutes before you intent to start, and
(5) don’t leave anything on the table. In other words, push thru each test as if each test is the last test. If you try and pace yourself, you’ll never post high numbers …assuming that is your goal.

Get ready to lay flat on the floor in a pool of your sweat when the test is done. If you gave it your all. You’ll need to peel yourself off the floor.

Have Fun and Good Luck!” 


I am especially going to bear in mind the advice of number 4, and that piece about peeling yourself off the floor… totally TRUE!  

This is fun so far, although it is giving me a thorough kick in the face with each workout, I love that and I look forward to the next 58 days!

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 02 2010
Nathan

If you are really serious about working out you should consider being a Beachbody Coach. My name is Nathan and I am a Beachbody Coach. The opportunity is too good to pass up. Check out the link below and it will answer all of your questions. Good luck with your insanity workouts!http://www.beachbodycoach.com/esuite/home/mccabe21/coach.htmlNathan McCabeIndependent Beachbody Coach

14 02 2010
Eval

Hey, Nathan! I have looked into this and while I DID sign up on the site (yesterday) to use the tools, I want to go through at least 30 days of Shaun T's Insanity before making the leap. I will keep you in mind should I decide to cross that bridge, and thanks for the info, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

