High Heels and Hair Inspiration

22 06 2010

This morning my Nikita heels from ShoeDazzle came! They are as cute in person as they are on the website. It’s a bit difficult to get a good pic of them on, but I got a semi-blurry pic. I painted my toes Barbie pink today and it looks adorable with the shoes, too.

Since I’m on a roll with the shoes, the pink polish and I’m in the middle of re-packing my makeup bag because I’m getting sort of sick of what’s in there, I was thinking of how much my hair has grown since this time last year. In April I cut my hair into a cute barely shoulder grazing bob and in June 2009 it was just at my shoulders. This month, it is well below my shoulders, in fact, it’s an inch or two below my shoulders in a standard (not low or high) ponytail. My goal is to eventually have waist-length hair, but if it doesn’t look full and healthy, I will keep it a bit shorter. Short term, I would like to grow my hair to the bottom of my bra strap, or mid-back length. I was looking through some pics and found these, all of which I love for different reasons that I share below each pic. I still regret cutting my hair last year. I know I can’t do anything about it now, but it was as long as it is now, which means I would have mid-back length hair NOW had I not cut it. Oh well… next year, right? lol

I love this. It’s not too thin or thick, and it’s my natural hair color, too!
Lighter than my hair but with fewer layers and a blunt edge. 
This is what my hair might look like when it’s long and straightened. 
I don’t plan to go darker than natural but I still love Kim K’s ‘do. 
The long layers are perfect.
Either this took HOURS to get perfect or it’s a wig. 
Either way, I love the length, again not too thin or thick, and I really love blunt bangs with long hair. 
Another long cut with blunt bangs c/o Bumble & Bumble (they also make my very favorite hair products!)
For reasons I can’t place, this is my favorite of them all. I think because it’s clearly effortless, yet still stylish. Also, the color looks very natural which I’m into. Afterall, that IS how your hair would look after two Summers at the beach. I assume that’s how long it would take to grow it that long from my current length. 
So there is my inspiration. Although I hate it, I get really frustrated and put my hair in a ponytail almost all the time. I do it so I will get past the “growing out” phase and let it be long. I am ALMOST there. Also, having kept it up most of the last year has allowed me to get it this long and it looks so much better when I style it because it’s healthy now. Since last year I have changed the way I treat my hair, too. I no longer use permanent (ammonia-containing) dyes in my hair. I do not use “natural” dyes, either. They coat the hair so thickly that if you ever decide to grow it out, not only will you have a line where the dye stops but you will have noticeably thinner hair above the dye line. How ugly! I haven’t dyed my hair in 3 months, either. That is another way I go about keeping my hair healthy. I have limited how often I color my hair. I have a gray or two but they aren’t visible, and who is going to notice two grays, anyway? If someone notices and they care, that isn’t my problem. I’m not insecure about it. I don’t LIKE grays but they are such a non-issue that I rarely think about it in the first place. I want my hair to be in it’s best possible condition when it’s long so I can keep my long hair. I don’t want to be one of those girls that walks around with snaggly, split-ended long locks. That’s just not cute. 
By the way, special thanks to Aveeno Nourish + Shine Shampoo and Conditioner for keeping my hair SO SHINY! WOW! 
GET A FREE SAMPLE HERE: Aveeno Nourish+Shine 
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

